Thoughts for Miss Earth 2012

I love the Top 16 this year and have nothing to add on.

I am bit sad that Turkey, Australia, Mongolia, Argentina and Puerto Rico didn’t make it. 16 is not enough to accommodate these girls, since a lot of stunners have joined this year. Also, there are no black girls in the semifinals. Nonetheless, the top 16 is a good one and I am contented with it.

The final four are gorgeous and they are really deserving of their crowns. It is a better set of winners compared to Miss International and Miss World this year. But I prefer a set of Elemental queens with countries that has yet to win at least an elemental crown. It is the same countries again, except Czech Republic replacing Ecuador. So please for Miss Earth 2013, I hope that there will be a new set of countries of winners, unless contestants of Philippines, Venezuela and Brazil will have a jaw dropping performance again. Remember the earlier editions of Miss Earth and there are countries like Serbia and Montenegro, Martinique and French Polynesia, countries you hardly hear in pageants.

I am glad that a blonde stunner won since it is unlikely for a blonde to win Miss Earth crown. It is very refreshing to see a European girl winning this year. Hmm…I read from someone’s post that he/she feels that a black girl will win Miss Earth at least by the year 2013. I love to hear that and I am glad if it will happen soon. Black girls in Miss Earth always end up as First Runners-Up. Miss Winfred Omwakme was a replacement and she was originally a first runner up and I think it is not enough. Please, for a change, crown the Miss Earth crown in a dashing, lovely and deserving black girl in the years to come.

I would say that I love the venue of Miss Earth this year. I love the song choices, especially in Evening Gown, where the song perfectly fits. I love the idea of Olga Alava’s entrance. Wow!

I am glad that a better interpreter has been hired for those people who speak Spanish but please, have interpreters for other languages. English is the language spoken by most people in the world, but it is better to let the contestant speak in her native language. It is the country they represent and stripping of the privilege to speak in their mother tongue is partly stripping of the identity of that country. Speaking in English is an advantage in Miss Earth, but it should not be imposed. It should not be the basis of choosing the winner. I hope that a Filipino Contestant in the future will speak in Filipino in a Final Q and A, providing there is a good interpreter.

Overall, I am glad with Miss Earth 2012. Kudos to a performance well done.

Leave a comment